1. Command Staff

    This page gives information on the Command Staff of the Shelby County Sheriff's Office. This includes Chief Deputy Clay Hammac, Major Jay Fondren, Captain Kevin Turner, Captain Russell Bedsole, Captain Mark Bishop, Captain Jason Myrick, and Captain Joe McGee.

  2. Chief Deputy Clay Hammac

    Chief Deputy Clay Hammac is currently responsible for the operational command and oversight of criminal investigations, drug enforcement, uniform patrol, tactical response, media relations, and oversight of budget, personnel and risk management.

  3. Major Jay Fondren

    Major Jay Fondren commands the Administrative Division and the Jail Division.

  4. Administrative Division

    The Administrative Division is commanded by Captain Mark Bishop. Components of the Administrative Division include its commander, the Records Unit, the Civil Process Unit, and the Training Unit.

  5. Jail Division

    The Jail Division of the Shelby County Sheriff’s Office is commanded by Captain Russell Bedsole and is responsible for the care, custody and control of the inmates housed in the Shelby County Jail.

  6. Criminal Investigations Division

    The Criminal Investigations Division is commanded by Captain Jason Myrick and is responsible for investigating criminal activity within Shelby County.

  7. Patrol Division

    The Patrol Division is commanded by Captain Kevin Turner. The primary responsibility of the Patrol Unit is to provide general law enforcement services to the unincorporated areas of Shelby County.

  8. Drug Task Force / Compact

    The Shelby County Drug Enforcement Task Force and Compact are commanded by Captain Joe McGee.  The Shelby County Drug Task Force officially began operations in January of 2004. Prior to that, local law enforcement agencies within Shelby County responded individually to the threat of illegal narcotics, within their individual jurisdictions.

  9. Specialty Units

    The Shelby County Sheriff's Office has a number of specialty units. These include, but are not limited to: Chaplains, Drug Court, Judicial Services Unit, Air Support Unit, Marine Patrol, Reserve Deputies, School Resource Officers, Tactical Response Unit, Crisis Negotiator Unit, and Mobile Field Force.